Light passes don't premult correctly

Forums: Light passes don't premult correctly
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: juanjgon

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby ptunstall » Mon May 27, 2019 6:47 pm

ptunstall Mon May 27, 2019 6:47 pm
Hey so lighting passes don't premult correctly in compositing. I've linked the HIP file and render below.

SCENE: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lf4w14gpl95jl ... e.zip?dl=0
EXR: https://www.dropbox.com/s/iyfqmgrvfhml5 ... 1.exr?dl=0
ptunstall
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 1:36 am

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby juanjgon » Mon May 27, 2019 8:17 pm

juanjgon Mon May 27, 2019 8:17 pm
Hi,

What problem do you have exactly with the light passes? According to the docs, they must be added together to recreate the original render in post.
https://docs.otoy.com/StandaloneH_STA/S ... Passes.htm

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7302
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby ptunstall » Mon May 27, 2019 8:57 pm

ptunstall Mon May 27, 2019 8:57 pm
Yes traditionally adding them back together has worked. If you were to checkout the exr linked you'll see that doing this reveals an illuminated edge akin to unpremutliplied renders. Even if I premilt them again the edge still shows up.
ptunstall
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 1:36 am

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby juanjgon » Mon May 27, 2019 9:39 pm

juanjgon Mon May 27, 2019 9:39 pm
So, did this feature work fine before? Do you know the latest Octane version where it was working fine?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7302
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby ptunstall » Mon May 27, 2019 11:35 pm

ptunstall Mon May 27, 2019 11:35 pm
Yes we've used this feature a lot in 4. I haven't used it much since moving to 2018.
ptunstall
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 1:36 am

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby juanjgon » Wed May 29, 2019 9:18 pm

juanjgon Wed May 29, 2019 9:18 pm
Sorry, can you please send us the .orbx file from the scene used to render these to light passes? I've been trying to reproduce the problem using your Houdini scene, but somehow I can't get this kind of lighting, so I'm not sure if I can see the same problem here.

Thanks for your help!
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7302
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby ptunstall » Fri May 31, 2019 3:27 am

ptunstall Fri May 31, 2019 3:27 am
sorry for delay:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0oj5pfpbqheld ... .orbx?dl=0

You can see the issue easily in standalone. Just select ln1 or ln2 in the viewpoint.

I'm using multiple rops and also layers maybe it's something to do with layers?
ptunstall
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 1:36 am

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby ptunstall » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:07 pm

ptunstall Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:07 pm
Any info on this?
ptunstall
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 1:36 am

Re: Light passes don't premult correctly

Postby juanjgon » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:21 pm

juanjgon Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:21 pm
Hope, sorry, not yet. I've sent the scene to the core devs to check it, but I have no news yet.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7302
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:27 pm [ UTC ]