bundles and subnets not working

Forums: bundles and subnets not working
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: juanjgon

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

bundles and subnets not working

Postby WhyGee » Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:25 am

WhyGee Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:25 am
Hi,
Bundles on the Octane ROP work fine as long as they are at /obj level. When I have objects in subnetworks and bundles pointing to them on the Octane ROP, it ignores them altogether. Only if I add the subnet itself to the bundle does it show up, but this is a different behavior than Houdini's bundle scheme if I'm not mistaken.

Attached a HIP with the issue.

Thanks
Yaniv
Attachments
bundle_issues.rar
bundle issue
(24.29 KiB) Downloaded 70 times
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby juanjgon » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:02 am

juanjgon Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:02 am
Thanks for reporting this issue. I will try to fix it if possible. It is not clear why it happens, because the bundle lists from patterns are managed by the HDK using the globbing functions, that should work without problems with any kind of pattern or bundles.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby juanjgon » Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:18 am

juanjgon Tue Feb 02, 2016 10:18 am
I have found the problem. The Octane scene loader was processing the subnets after processing the bundle lists, so if the subnet was not in the bundle all the nodes inside were not loaded at all.

It will be fixed in the next build.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby WhyGee » Tue Feb 02, 2016 4:57 pm

WhyGee Tue Feb 02, 2016 4:57 pm
Awesome, I appreciate the quick responses!

Thanks again
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby WhyGee » Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:45 pm

WhyGee Thu Mar 03, 2016 6:45 pm
Hi,
I think the issue still exists in v3 alpha 6 (both plugin and standalone).
Could you confirm please?

Thanks
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby juanjgon » Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:15 pm

juanjgon Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:15 pm
Let me check it. I will test your scene again ASAP.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby juanjgon » Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:23 pm

juanjgon Thu Mar 03, 2016 7:23 pm
True. I'd swear it worked in my tests while fixing this problem :(

I will try to fix it as soon as possible. Thanks for reporting the problem again.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby WhyGee » Thu Mar 03, 2016 8:58 pm

WhyGee Thu Mar 03, 2016 8:58 pm
Sure thing. Thanks!
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby juanjgon » Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:09 pm

juanjgon Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:09 pm
I think that finally I have fixed this problem, but it is not an easy task, so perhaps there are other side effects around all the available combinations of visibility/candidate/force/exclude lists. Anyway now the plugin should work better.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
image001251.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: bundles and subnets not working

Postby WhyGee » Sat Mar 26, 2016 8:21 pm

WhyGee Sat Mar 26, 2016 8:21 pm
Thanks!
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed May 27, 2020 3:38 am [ UTC ]