Render Passes + Alpha

Forums: Render Passes + Alpha
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Render Passes + Alpha

Postby stevepickup » Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:32 am

stevepickup Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:32 am
Hello - New user of Octane and really like it.
Hope you'll excuse the potentially stupid question.

Firstly, is it possible to render an object but still have it contribute to the alpha channel? So, you can then select this later in post and change stuff.

From what I’ve been reading I suspect not, and actually the way to do this is using the ‘object layer ID’ – instead give object A one ID and object B a second ID. Then in the ROP tick ‘render object layers’ and layers to render 1-2, layers mode normal. And render to disk.

However for the life of me I can’t seem to get Octane to save out the two layered files (format is Multilayer EXR Untonemapped - $HIP/render/$HIPNAME.$OS.$F4) If I tick ‘Render to MPlay’ I can see the two layers render, but it only ever save the final layer rendered.?? Im guessing im missing something very simple an obvious but sorry cant seem to figure it out.

Also im guessing the Layer render option for this is going to be slower because is has to render the scene twice or more to get the layers - is there actually a more efficient way to do this?

Answers to any of the above would be a massive help - thanks
stevepickup
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:33 am

Re: Render Passes + Alpha

Postby juanjgon » Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:08 am

juanjgon Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:08 am
Hi,

To save the render layers you need to add to the filename the $OCTANE_LAYER tag to let the plugin add the layer ID to the file name. For example: $HIP/render/$HIPNAME.$OS.$OCTANE_LAYER.$F4

https://docs.otoy.com/HoudiniH/HoudiniP ... gsOutp.htm

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8059
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Render Passes + Alpha

Postby stevepickup » Thu Aug 06, 2020 1:31 pm

stevepickup Thu Aug 06, 2020 1:31 pm
Oh thank you! worked a treat
I think i must have been adding in the $OCTANE_LAYER in the wrong order
stevepickup
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:33 am

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:43 pm [ UTC ]