Fur thickness attribute ?

Forums: Fur thickness attribute ?
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Fur thickness attribute ?

Postby WoutTgh » Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:22 pm

WoutTgh Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:22 pm
Hi,

is the fur thickness attribute accessible on a point per point basis ?
WoutTgh
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:39 pm

Re: Fur thickness attribute ?

Postby juanjgon » Tue Feb 25, 2020 9:48 pm

juanjgon Tue Feb 25, 2020 9:48 pm
Hi,

The Octane plugin gets the fur thickness from the "width" float point attribute, if available in the curve primitives.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Fur thickness attribute ?

Postby WoutTgh » Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:26 pm

WoutTgh Tue Feb 25, 2020 10:26 pm
Oh, interesting, that seems to work, but what about the tip thickness ? thanks !
WoutTgh
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:39 pm

Re: Fur thickness attribute ?

Postby galleon27 » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:16 am

galleon27 Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:16 am
WoutTgh wrote:Oh, interesting, that seems to work, but what about the tip thickness ? thanks !


Just do a gradient on curves and call it width.
If you use resample node and turn on curveu attribute, you should be able to do it easily. Turn off resampling if you don't need it.
After that create a wrangle node and write @width = @curveu;
@curveu attribute goes from 0 to 1 so you can fit it to whatever value you want. So the code should be:
@width = fit01(@curveu, min, max);
Win 10 64bit // GTX 1080 + GTX 1080 Ti // i7 4790k // 16GB // SideFX Houdini // C4D
galleon27
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:55 am

Re: Fur thickness attribute ?

Postby WoutTgh » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:04 pm

WoutTgh Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:04 pm
ooh of course, cool. And then just keep the obj paramteres setting at the default, or both 1 or whatever.

Thanks ! :)
WoutTgh
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:39 pm

Re: Fur thickness attribute ?

Postby galleon27 » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:20 pm

galleon27 Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:20 pm
WoutTgh wrote:ooh of course, cool. And then just keep the obj paramteres setting at the default, or both 1 or whatever.

Thanks ! :)


Yea keep it at default, it doesn't really matter. If you have width attribute, it's gonna override whatever you have in obj level.
Win 10 64bit // GTX 1080 + GTX 1080 Ti // i7 4790k // 16GB // SideFX Houdini // C4D
galleon27
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:55 am

Re: Fur thickness attribute ?

Postby WoutTgh » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:22 pm

WoutTgh Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:22 pm
Yes, thank you, very helpful :)
WoutTgh
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:39 pm

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:59 am [ UTC ]