Memory Problem

Forums: Memory Problem
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Re: Memory Problem

Postby ginodauri » Thu Feb 20, 2020 5:14 am

ginodauri Thu Feb 20, 2020 5:14 am
Tried out of core command as pre render in octane rop and it works.
Octane report 1.5 gb out of core memory used.
One questions about this
This is from docs

RAM USAGE LIMIT(GB):

Here you can adjust the amount of Ram in your system. Remember that the value you enter here will no longer be used by the system.



GPU HEAD ROOM (MB):

Default setting recommended.

About RAM USAGE LIMIT , is it this number always reserved/excluded during rendering , or it can scale up to requered target , and this is just limit.
In other words we can put here "infinite" number but out of core will used only required ram?
ginodauri
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:58 pm

Re: Memory Problem

Postby juanjgon » Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:23 am

juanjgon Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:23 am
As far as I know, I think that all the "RAM USAGE LIMIT" memory is all reserved when the rendering is launched, so it is no longer available for the system.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain
Previous

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:27 am [ UTC ]