z depth pass

Forums: z depth pass
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

z depth pass

Postby asamaniego » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:42 pm

asamaniego Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:42 pm
Hello,

I'm having an issue rendering out a z depth pass.

My process:

I set up the render passes node and make sure z-depth is on. I right click on the ipr and show the pass and then adjust accordingly. In the rop I save out to: ...$OCTANE_LAYER-$F4.exr as a multilayer EXR tonemapped. I bring the file into AE and then extract using extractor. I then adjust using levels, but I'm not getting anything. I can't find any info on this in the documentation nor online. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
asamaniego
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:46 pm

Re: z depth pass

Postby juanjgon » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:11 pm

juanjgon Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:11 pm
Probably the Z information is there, but in real scene units as a floating value, not tonemapped like you can see it in the IPR window. If you want to share your scene I could take a look at it here.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: z depth pass

Postby asamaniego » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:54 am

asamaniego Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:54 am
moving_mtns.hip.zip
(93.21 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
. Thanks Juanjo! Here is the scene.
asamaniego
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:46 pm

Re: z depth pass

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:26 am

juanjgon Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:26 am
I've just rendered your scene and the z pass information in the EXR file is fine, as you can see in the attached image using djv as viewer, so somehow the problem is on AE side for sure.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
2020_01_14-12_25_18.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: z depth pass

Postby asamaniego » Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:08 am

asamaniego Fri Jan 17, 2020 3:08 am
I still can't seem to get a z-pass. I can get one out of c4d/octane, but for some reason I can't get one out of Houdini so I know it's not an AE issue. When I render out of Houdini, extractor is only picking up the z-depth for red and green. Would it be possible to list out the proper steps to get a z-depth render?
asamaniego
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:46 pm

Re: z depth pass

Postby juanjgon » Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:18 pm

juanjgon Fri Jan 17, 2020 12:18 pm
But this is the render from your scene, without any change in it! I've just rendered it and as you can see the zdepth information is there, at least when the file is opened using djv ...

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
2020_01_17-13_17_41.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: z depth pass

Postby asamaniego » Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:19 pm

asamaniego Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:19 pm
I don't use djv. I comp in AE. I don't understand how a z-depth pass done in c4d octane works, but a z-depth pass done in houdini does not work. There is some kind of change going on with the houdini render. I have tried everything and haven't had any luck. The documentation on passes doesn't mention anything about set up. I would even be ecstatic to get an example file with the proper set up, if possible.
asamaniego
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:46 pm

Re: z depth pass

Postby juanjgon » Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:55 pm

juanjgon Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:55 pm
The passes and files export is managed by the Octane core. There is nothing on the plugin side affecting them.

The render options things that can affect the output file and perhaps the Z pass are the file format (especially if it is tonemapped or not), the compression format, the EXR half precision, etc. You should check if these settings are the same in C4D and Houdini.

From the RenderTarget point of view, be aware that there is a "Z-depth max" parameter that can also affect the Z pass output. You should also check if this parameter is the same in both plugins.

I can't figure out anything else that could explain why the z pass is not the same in all the plugins. If all fails, perhaps you should export both scenes to the standalone to check what could be the difference in the render passes node.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7662
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: z depth pass

Postby asamaniego » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:00 pm

asamaniego Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:00 pm
Okay. I'll check those. Thank you!
asamaniego
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:46 pm

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:09 am [ UTC ]