Volume Rendering issue

Forums: Volume Rendering issue
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Volume Rendering issue

Postby Mentaldevil » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:05 pm

Mentaldevil Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:05 pm
Hi,

I have a problem rendering a pyro sim in Houdini 17.5.391 using Octane 2019. No idea what causes it. I have Cached the sim to disk, not sure if that matters. I get the same issue when caching to RAM.

The render is displaying correctly in the IPR but when writing to disk, I get an error message. Im gonna attach the message and hip file below.

Thanks for the help.

Edit: Your Captcha prevents me from uploading the hip file, I will try again later.
Attachments
error message.PNG
Mentaldevil
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:47 am

Re: Volume Rendering issue

Postby juanjgon » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:10 pm

juanjgon Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:10 pm
You should be able to attach the scene file if you compress it into a .zip file. Have you tried to render the scene in "full scene reload" mode?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7664
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Volume Rendering issue

Postby Mentaldevil » Sun Jan 12, 2020 2:26 pm

Mentaldevil Sun Jan 12, 2020 2:26 pm
I uploaded it now, I tried rendering with full scene reload but the same issue keeps appearing.

I forgot to mention that I still get an image saved to disk, it just doesnt look the same compared to the IPR at all. If you want I can post a comparison.

Edit: Removing the backplate and render passes nodes seems to have fixed it, the error message still comes up but disk output now looks like the IPR.
Attachments
Pyro_Rapid_Explosion.v01.rar
(108.64 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Mentaldevil
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:47 am

Re: Volume Rendering issue

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:10 pm

juanjgon Tue Jan 14, 2020 2:10 pm
You can ignore the octane messages. They come from the scene cleaning functions and are not dangerous at all. I've removed them for the next Octane 2020 plugin build.

About your issue with the rendered files, the problem is that you have at least one pass enabled (the Noise one) but you are not using the $OCTANE_PASS tag in the filename, so all the passes, including this one, are exported to the same file overwriting the beauty main pass.


Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7664
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Volume Rendering issue

Postby Mentaldevil » Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:36 pm

Mentaldevil Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:36 pm
Ah, thats good to know. Ive been wondering about why this happened. Thanks for the additional info.

Is it just me or are some of these smaller issues not documented anywhere? I have read the manual but dont remember stumbling across this.
Mentaldevil
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:47 am

Re: Volume Rendering issue

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jan 21, 2020 9:17 pm

juanjgon Tue Jan 21, 2020 9:17 pm
I'm sure that there are features that are missing in the docs, but the $OCTANE_PASS variable is documented in the Octane ROP node topic ;)
https://docs.otoy.com/HoudiniH/HoudiniP ... gsOutp.htm

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7664
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:05 pm [ UTC ]