heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Forums: heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Postby dotcom » Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:44 pm

dotcom Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:44 pm
Hello
I have exported all my geometries to bgeo.sc, before rendering it with octane,
one of the geos is 30 millions polys and about 1go.
My problem is that houdini crashes while loading this, i thought octane 4 handled automatically out of core geo,
so i'm confused by this, is there a way to load heavy scenes geo with Octane ?
like i don't know, a button or specify the amount of ram for loading geo, i have 128 go ram so i think thi sis enough for loading this.

I thank you very much,

++

Arnold.
________________________________
User avatar
dotcom
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:04 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Postby dotcom » Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:20 pm

dotcom Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:20 pm
i've just download installed and modify env. file for using Octane 4 02 same thing > CRASH.
Help,
Thanks.
________________________________
User avatar
dotcom
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:04 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Postby juanjgon » Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:18 pm

juanjgon Mon Mar 04, 2019 10:18 pm
Hi,

Octane should be able to render 30M polygons without problems. Can you please send us the Octane log file that you get after the crash, or even better, the scene file to reproduce this problem here?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7887
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Postby dotcom » Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:42 am

dotcom Tue Mar 05, 2019 6:42 am
Hello,

Nice !
thanks you for your help JuanJGon,

I've deleted all but the geo that crash the app,
few details : crash occurs during preprocessing in IPR
i've moved away all that might come into my mind like : AI lights, adaptive sampling, denoiser, multiproc uploading, nodes connected to mat, export passes, octane transfer attributs,
and i've configured render params to be as default as possible.

You can download it here : https://we.tl/t-zPKJ1WjbhQ
as i mentioned this is a 1 go geo import of 30 million polys so the zip file is 575 mo can't do much about this i'm sorry.

Hope you'll find something !

Now, i remember having same exact feeling with a geo that was like this one, it was in octane 2 and with c4d plugin, same thing : numerous small unclosed cubes for windows,
but at that time the geo was coming from another soft package so i thought the software was the cause, geo was loading or not sometimes, plugin in c4d crashing while IPR rendering or not sometimes.

Have a good day JuanJgon,

++
________________________________
User avatar
dotcom
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:04 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Postby dotcom » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:23 am

dotcom Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:23 am
I've tried to export as bgeo (previously was bgeo.sc),
bgeo : 3.5 go
bgeo.sc : 946 mo
same thing : crash /.

it's not because of that compression thing then /.

still investigating...
________________________________
User avatar
dotcom
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:04 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Postby dotcom » Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:58 am

dotcom Tue Mar 05, 2019 7:58 am
Ho my god, my bad,
i'm sorry,

i've dropped a clean node and it renders....
probably too much of a points at the same pos (did'nt noticed that),
so the clean cleans as it s supposed to ...>
from a bgeo of 3.5 go to a 700 mo bgeo.

If you encounter that kinda problem : first thing first : put down the clean node

I'm sorry to have bothered you JuanJGon,
i am still new to houdininot yet used with those usefull nodes.

hope a good day to everyone,

++
________________________________
User avatar
dotcom
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:04 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: heavy geo > houdini crash (octane 2018.1.0.3)

Postby juanjgon » Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:20 pm

juanjgon Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:20 pm
No problem! Yes, probably your object has some kind of degenerated geometry that was crashing the Octane scene preprocessing. The plugin has some filters to avoid these problems, but not always is possible to detect them. The Clean SOP is the best tool to avoid these problems. In any case I'll check your scene to see if something can be done on the plugin side to improve the extraction and avoid the crash.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7887
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Nov 25, 2020 11:18 pm [ UTC ]