instanced VDBs render glitch

Forums: instanced VDBs render glitch
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby FahadA92 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:48 am

FahadA92 Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:48 am
Hello,

I'm getting odd glitches when rendering instanced VDBs (clouds). It seems to happen when the VDBs overlap. When the VDBs overlap when not instanced, the glitch doesn't appear.
Attachments
028.PNG
001.png
Windows 8.1, GTX 970 EVGA SC, i7 4790k, 32GB RAM
FahadA92
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:00 am

juanjgon Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:00 am
I remember that there was a limitation in the number of overlapped volumes supported in Octane (three perhaps?), but if you say that without instancing all works fine, this can be a bug in the Octane core. Can you please send me a scene to reproduce this problem here?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Develper
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby FahadA92 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:11 am

FahadA92 Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:11 am
I tried with 4 vdbs and it seemed to work. I have sent you a link with the hip file and vdb files. Thanks!
Windows 8.1, GTX 970 EVGA SC, i7 4790k, 32GB RAM
FahadA92
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby FahadA92 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:40 pm

FahadA92 Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:40 pm
another glitch it seems. There is no overlapping here, only instancing.
Attachments
002.png
Windows 8.1, GTX 970 EVGA SC, i7 4790k, 32GB RAM
FahadA92
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby FahadA92 » Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:46 pm

FahadA92 Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:46 pm
Also, this is with Houdini 16 and 3.08 RC1 plug in. Another big seems to be that octane doesn't show the correct material until the second frame or if I manually adjust the material after the scene has loaded.
Windows 8.1, GTX 970 EVGA SC, i7 4790k, 32GB RAM
FahadA92
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:31 pm

juanjgon Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:31 pm
FahadA92 wrote:Hello,

I'm getting odd glitches when rendering instanced VDBs (clouds). It seems to happen when the VDBs overlap. When the VDBs overlap when not instanced, the glitch doesn't appear.

Sorry for the late reply. I'm testing your scene, and I can see that you are not hiding the master objects, so they are being rendered over the instances creating artifacts. There is an option adding the Octane spare parameters to hide the object from the rendering. Can this be the problem? After hiding the master objects the rendering seems fine.

EDIT: BTW ... this scene is extracted a lot faster if you enable the multi-thread scene extraction option in the Octane ROP node ;)

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
2018_04_03-01_25_17.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Develper
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:33 pm

juanjgon Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:33 pm
FahadA92 wrote:Also, this is with Houdini 16 and 3.08 RC1 plug in. Another big seems to be that octane doesn't show the correct material until the second frame or if I manually adjust the material after the scene has loaded.

Sorry, can you elaborate on this issue? Are you talking about the volume materials?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Develper
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby FahadA92 » Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:13 am

FahadA92 Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:13 am
juanjgon wrote:
FahadA92 wrote:Hello,

I'm getting odd glitches when rendering instanced VDBs (clouds). It seems to happen when the VDBs overlap. When the VDBs overlap when not instanced, the glitch doesn't appear.

Sorry for the late reply. I'm testing your scene, and I can see that you are not hiding the master objects, so they are being rendered over the instances creating artifacts. There is an option adding the Octane spare parameters to hide the object from the rendering. Can this be the problem? After hiding the master objects the rendering seems fine.

EDIT: BTW ... this scene is extracted a lot faster if you enable the multi-thread scene extraction option in the Octane ROP node ;)

Thanks,
-Juanjo


Hi Juanio! Thanks for looking into it! It's strange because I remember checking the hide object from the rendering option. I'll look into it again. Also, it seems that you're not getting artifacts even with overlapping volumes, is that correct? what version of octane are you using? Also, thanks for the extraction tip! I was wondering why it was taking forever!
Windows 8.1, GTX 970 EVGA SC, i7 4790k, 32GB RAM
FahadA92
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: instanced VDBs render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:32 pm

juanjgon Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:32 pm
I'm using this latest 3.08.0.9 plugin build, with the Octane 3.08 RC3 core ...

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Develper
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun May 20, 2018 12:01 pm [ UTC ]