Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Forums: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby TStudio » Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:59 pm

TStudio Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:59 pm
Hi guys.
I just bought Octane redner for Houdini and I can`t even install it ....
Can you help me with this... I`m on windows 10.
I have tried to modify Houdni.env file.. but once restarted Houdin doesn`t show my Octane bar..
Waht I`m doing wrong ??
Untitled-1.jpg
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby juanjgon » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:23 pm

juanjgon Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:23 pm
Hi,

The houdini.env file has a couple of mistakes (not your fault, the docs must be updated). It should be:

Code: Select all
HOUDINI_DSO_ERROR = 2
PATH = "C:/Program Files/OTOY/Octane_3.07.0.1_Houdini_16.0.705_Win64/bin;$PATH"
HOUDINI_PATH = "C:/Program Files/OTOY/Octane_3.07.0.1_Houdini_16.0.705_Win64;&"


But in any case, the main problem here is that Houdini Apprentice doesn't support external renderers, so all the Octane ROP node render functions are disabled. You could open the IPR to test the plugin, but you are not going to be able to render to disk anything.

Houdini Indie supports external renderers, but the Apprentice version not.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby TStudio » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:52 pm

TStudio Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:52 pm
Thank you very much for your help.
I will buy Indie licence after 12 December :-) So than I can play with Octane more :-).

How can I open the IPR t otset plugin - I`m totaly new to Houdini :-)
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby juanjgon » Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:17 pm

juanjgon Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:17 pm
From the ROP node or from the shelf. Take a look at the tutorial in the docs:
https://docs.otoy.com/HoudiniH/HoudiniP ... eScene.htm

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby TStudio » Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:21 pm

TStudio Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:21 pm
Thank You Juanjo!!
I will have a lot to read on X-mas holidays :-)

Best regards.
Tomasz
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby TStudio » Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:27 pm

TStudio Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:27 pm
Hi Juanjo.

I have bought Houdini indie :-) version 16.5.323 and I have installed Octane for Houdnini "Octane_3.07.0.1_Houdini_16.0.633_Win64" but I get this error...
bug.jpg


Waht version of Octane should I use?
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby juanjgon » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:19 am

juanjgon Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:19 am
Hi,

The Houdini version and the plugin version installed and pointed by the PATH and HOUDINI_PATH variables must match. If you have the "Octane_3.07.0.1_Houdini_16.0.633_Win64" plugin installed in your HD and configured in the houdini.env file, you must download and install Houdini 16.0.633 to work with it.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby juanjgon » Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:30 am

juanjgon Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:30 am
More related information. The current Octane 3.08 test build has a proper plugin build for Houdini 16.5.268.

You are working with the latest Houdini 16.5.323 production build, but the current plugin for the 16.5.268 should work fine on it, so after installing the 16.5.268 plugin build on your HD, if you configure your houdini.env file adding these lines, it should work fine:

Code: Select all
HOUDINI_DSO_ERROR = 2
PATH = "C:/Program Files/OTOY/Octane_3.08.0.0_Houdini_16.5.268_Win64/bin;$PATH"
HOUDINI_PATH = "C:/Program Files/OTOY/Octane_3.08.0.0_Houdini_16.5.268_Win64;&"



Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7028
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby TStudio » Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:54 pm

TStudio Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:54 pm
Thank you Juanjo ! I will try this!
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Instaliing Octane redner for Houdini Apprentice 16.0.705

Postby TStudio » Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:02 pm

TStudio Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:02 pm
It worked :-) I`m soooo happy!!!
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:41 pm [ UTC ]