Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Forums: Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Postby mz2 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:48 pm

mz2 Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:48 pm
I'm having trouble rendering some geometry in Houdini in OctaneRender that I've constructed by adapting from this tutorial: https://vimeo.com/132679428

I read that OctaneRender cannot render point clouds so in my version of the scene I used a "Copy to points" SOP with the stamp primitive being a sphere mesh, using packed primitives. The geometry is still however not showing in the render at all (it is showing fine in the viewport and in Mantra). What am I doing wrong? I tried adding a 2nd material SOP after the "copy to points" instancing in case it was about that, but doesn't appear to make a difference.

I've shared a session presenting the problem here:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9oqvhptvdoqj ... 9C0ya?dl=0

(Note that it takes a moment (a few minutes) of baking to initially open the project, as projecting the texture to point colours takes a while.)
mz2
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:40 pm

Re: Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Postby mz2 » Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:08 pm

mz2 Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:08 pm
For reference, this is what the Mantra rendering of the scene looks like:

kaisa-point-cloud-mantra.png
Example Mantra rendering of the scene
mz2
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:40 pm

Re: Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Postby juanjgon » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:12 pm

juanjgon Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:12 pm
Hi,

The plugin can render particle effects using the Octane native sphere primitive. You have more details about this workflow in the docs:
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/ ... particles/

The plugin doesn't support the Houdini packed primitives yet (it is a planned feature for the near future), and the Copy SOP can't be used for instancing (internally the data is seen like real copies of the object, only Mantra understand it as an instancer) so I suppose that the particle rendering is the best workflow for this kind of effects.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Postby mz2 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:33 am

mz2 Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:33 am
Thanks! And whoa, as expected, OctaneRender is *insanely* fast at rendering that scene.
mz2
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:40 pm

Re: Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Postby mz2 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:37 am

mz2 Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:37 am
Actually, I have another related problem: the points that I'm rendering have the Cd attribute set based on the 3D scan's texture. Is it possible to get the vertex color to feed into the sphere primitives' color?
mz2
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:40 pm

Re: Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Postby juanjgon » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:43 am

juanjgon Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:43 am
Octane doesn't support point attributes yet, but the plugin has a trick to encode color attributes in the particle systems using the sphere UV mapping feature. In the same docs page posted before you have a brief description of how it works.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Geom with "copy to points" instanced spheres not showing.

Postby mz2 » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:03 am

mz2 Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:03 am
Ah, I'd read that but didn't get it to work – I had misunderstood though, what I had tried to do was to tick that color packing into the UV map, and then use the original texture as the texture. Oops, need to instead use the texture that's included in the plugin install. Will give that a go…
mz2
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:40 pm

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:18 am [ UTC ]