Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?

Forums: Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?

Postby gui2one » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:45 am

gui2one Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:45 am
Hi, I was wondering if there is a way to do any remote rendering from Indie ?

I get that, because of license limitation, I can't render animations bigger than fullHD resolution.
But right now I just want to be able to render a large single frame.
What do I do in that situation ? All the export capabilities are deactivated in Indie.
Do I have to wait for Otoy to take that into account ( if it ever happens ... ) ?

I hope my only solution is not to work in Octane Stand alone, this could be a pain :(
---------------------------------
Windows 10 |NVIDIA RTX TITAN - 24GB| i9-9900K | 64GB RAM
gui2one
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 8:16 pm

Re: Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?

Postby juanjgon » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:29 am

juanjgon Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:29 am
Hi,

As you know Indie has the sequence rendering resolution limited to 1080p. The same happen with all the external renderers. The render plugins can't violate the Indie license terms related to the sequence rendering resolution. It is a restriction forced by SideFX to allow us to publish the plugin for Indie.

The same happens with the scene export features. It is a limitation related to the Indie licensing. All the scene export and cloud features must be disabled to don't violate the Indie license terms.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?

Postby Fake Pilot » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:31 am

Fake Pilot Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:31 am
You can render any size for a single frame in Indie.
Just change it from "render frame sequence" to "render current frame".
Work machine: Utopia Computers, 4 x GTX 1080 Ti 11GB, 128GB RAM, 10-Core 3.0Ghz Intel Core i7-6950X, Windows 10 Pro.
Home machine: Komplett Xtreme i100, 3 x GTX Titan X 12GB. 32 GB RAM. 8-Core 3.0Ghz Intel Core i7 -5960X. Windows 10 Pro.
User avatar
Fake Pilot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:54 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?

Postby juanjgon » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:33 am

juanjgon Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:33 am
Yes of course. The resolution limitation is there only for sequence rendering. Stills can be rendered at any resolution.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7364
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?

Postby Fake Pilot » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:36 am

Fake Pilot Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:36 am
Also, can't you make your scene into a HDA digital asset and import it into, say Cinema 4D or Maya. Then render from there?
Work machine: Utopia Computers, 4 x GTX 1080 Ti 11GB, 128GB RAM, 10-Core 3.0Ghz Intel Core i7-6950X, Windows 10 Pro.
Home machine: Komplett Xtreme i100, 3 x GTX Titan X 12GB. 32 GB RAM. 8-Core 3.0Ghz Intel Core i7 -5960X. Windows 10 Pro.
User avatar
Fake Pilot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:54 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Remote rendering solution for Houdini Indie ?

Postby gui2one » Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:56 am

gui2one Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:56 am
Hi guys,
Yes I am aware that Indie can render unlimited size for stills. But the problem remains that if I wan't to use a remote service to render a huge still image with a lot of samples. ( i.e still in accordance with indie licensing restrictions)
It guess would be alright if something like gridMarket offered a solution for rendering with octane for Indie.
But for now all the remote solutions I found on the internet, are some virtual machines type of services , "install your own software" , and I don't think I will be able render on this using my Indie license.
---------------------------------
Windows 10 |NVIDIA RTX TITAN - 24GB| i9-9900K | 64GB RAM
gui2one
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 8:16 pm

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Apr 05, 2020 11:32 am [ UTC ]