volume primitive render glitch

Forums: volume primitive render glitch
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

volume primitive render glitch

Postby FahadA92 » Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:11 am

FahadA92 Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:11 am
Hello,

I'm getting a glitch when trying to render big volume files. the one in the attachment is around 200m voxels and is about 1.7 gb, when I go to a later frame with higher voxel count, the artifacts increase and I get error: "attempt to reach null node" or something similar.

when I go to lower voxel count (171m) , the artifacts are gone.
Attachments
015.PNG
Windows 8.1, GTX 970 EVGA SC, i7 4790k, 32GB RAM
FahadA92
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: volume primitive render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:44 am

juanjgon Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:44 am
Hi,

Can you please attach the scene file to test it here? With enough VRAM, Octane should be able to render this large volume. Perhaps there is a bug in the export code.

Are you working with the latest plugin version?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7358
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: volume primitive render glitch

Postby FahadA92 » Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:36 pm

FahadA92 Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:36 pm
Do you need just the hip file or also the volume primitive? because the bgeo file is like 2.3GB
Windows 8.1, GTX 970 EVGA SC, i7 4790k, 32GB RAM
FahadA92
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 6:29 pm

Re: volume primitive render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:01 pm

juanjgon Sun Feb 12, 2017 2:01 pm
If the hip file can export the bgeo, it can be enough. Anyway I'll try to reproduce the problem myself here.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7358
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: volume primitive render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:49 pm

juanjgon Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:49 pm
Hi,

Sorry, but I'm going to need the scene to reproduce this problem here. In my tests, I can't see these artifacts in the volume rendering. If you can also send me the scene to write the volume bgeo, I could not need the huge volume object file.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7358
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: volume primitive render glitch

Postby juanjgon » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:46 pm

juanjgon Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:46 pm
Hi,

Have you finally fixed this issue? If not perhaps you could try the latest 3.06.0.0 plugin build, but anyway without the scene to reproduce it here it is hard to know what could be the problem.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7358
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:08 am [ UTC ]