Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Forums: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby VISUAL360 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:59 pm

VISUAL360 Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:59 pm
Hi there,

Just testing out the demo. I have two GPUs, one for monitor (that I want to disable as the vram is only 3) and a 1080.

Looking at the Plugin Options, it doesn't indicate which one you are enabling?

Even the IPR window doesn't show the type/version (1080) as the standalone does.

I've also tried to enable both and reload/update and it continues to say Local GPU 1 of 2 in the IPR window.

Can someone tell me what I'm missing?

Thanks
VISUAL360
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby juanjgon » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:06 pm

juanjgon Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:06 pm
Hi,

What demo version are you using? In the latest versions, the GPU type is printed in the GPUs options panel tab.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7575
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby VISUAL360 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:07 pm

VISUAL360 Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:07 pm
Thanks for the quick reply.

I'm using the 15.5.673 demo
VISUAL360
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby juanjgon » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:13 pm

juanjgon Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:13 pm
But what plugin version? The latest one is the 3.05.3.0, and it should show the GPUs type names in the options panel:
viewtopic.php?f=102&t=58690

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7575
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby VISUAL360 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:17 pm

VISUAL360 Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:17 pm
3.05.3.0
Attachments
ipr.JPG
gpus.JPG
VISUAL360
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby juanjgon » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:21 pm

juanjgon Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:21 pm
Are you sure? Can you please check the plugin version using the "About" option in the shelf? This options panel sounds really old to me. Perhaps you have a mistake in the houdini.env file, pointing to an older plugin version.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7575
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby VISUAL360 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:32 pm

VISUAL360 Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:32 pm
The "about" buttons don't work. I downloaded the only demo I saw on the website, same as you linked to. Are you sure that demo is up to date?

I got this octane log on my desktop though.

og started Thu Feb 9 17:28:17 2017
Octane Render for Houidini by Juanjo Gonzalez. Build 3.00.20.1 (Build date: May 31 2016 11:13:18)
Octane API: 3.00
HDK API: 15.5.480
Houdini host version: 15.5.717
System: GenuineIntel Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4930K CPU @ 3.40GHz, 3348 Mhz., 12 cores
OS: Windows 8 64-bit
VISUAL360
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby juanjgon » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:37 pm

juanjgon Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:37 pm
Houdini is loading a really old plugin version that in fact probably isn't even compatible with the Pascal GPUs.

How are you installing the plugin? Perhaps you have an old plugin installed directly inside your $HOME/houdini15.5 directory or a problem in your houdini.env file. I think that you should clean your $HOME/houdini15.5 directory if possible and install the plugin using the installation instructions in the docs:
https://docs.otoy.com/manuals/products/ ... r-houdini/

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7575
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby VISUAL360 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:42 pm

VISUAL360 Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:42 pm
Hi,

I looked at that and sorry but I'm not understanding what to do here. I dropped that Octane demo folder into the Houdini bin folder and didn't change my houdini.env text.

How can you make this easier?

Also, how can it be working if I didn't do it correctly?
VISUAL360
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Octane (Demo) Plugin Options...Which GPU?

Postby VISUAL360 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:44 pm

VISUAL360 Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:44 pm
This is the first time I've ever downloaded this houdini demo. So I do not have an older file to link to.
VISUAL360
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:22 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Next

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:30 pm [ UTC ]