How to volume render?

Forums: How to volume render?
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

How to volume render?

Postby 93i » Wed May 25, 2016 11:32 am

93i Wed May 25, 2016 11:32 am
Hi,

i'm trying to check out the new volume rendering.

Here is what i tried with 3.0.14 and 3.0.20 on Houdini 15.5 indie (besides trying pyro fx presets, which lead to the same result)

Add octane renderer, add sphere, add camera
shop context: add render target, add diffuse
in the diffuse material, add medium volume node into the medium plug of the material
in the sphere object i add a iso offset and make it fog volume
on the sphere object i add octane object tab and enable volume rendering
in render target i select path tracing kernel
open ipr window -> crash

Is this the way it is supposed to do it, and if not, can someone give me a quick start on how to do it?

Thanx,
Heiko
93i
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:54 pm

Re: How to volume render?

Postby juanjgon » Wed May 25, 2016 11:42 am

juanjgon Wed May 25, 2016 11:42 am
Can you please share this scene, saving it just before the crash? A crash always worry me.

I can also use the scene as tutorial about how to configure the volume rendering, while I work in the plugin final docs.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7297
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How to volume render?

Postby 93i » Wed May 25, 2016 12:17 pm

93i Wed May 25, 2016 12:17 pm
See attachment.

Just go to out, and click open ipr
Attachments
OctaneHoudini.zip
(86.22 KiB) Downloaded 133 times
93i
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:54 pm

Re: How to volume render?

Postby juanjgon » Wed May 25, 2016 12:29 pm

juanjgon Wed May 25, 2016 12:29 pm
Weird, I can't reproduce the crash here. Anyway the main issue is that you must set a name for the volume grid in the volume SOP node, as you can see in the attached image ('density' is the default one used in the OBJ volume spare parameters)

The crash problem can be other issue. Can you render scenes without volumes? Also if possible, enable the log file in the plugin render options and send it to me to know where the plugin is crashing.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
image001440.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7297
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: How to volume render?

Postby 93i » Wed May 25, 2016 12:48 pm

93i Wed May 25, 2016 12:48 pm
Thanx again for the quick help.

Yes, i can render without volume, and setting the name to density actually does fix the crash and does render fine.

I attached the log, although i think it does not provide much detail (i have set it to debug though)
Attachments
octane.log
(1.71 KiB) Downloaded 94 times
93i
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 8:54 pm

Re: How to volume render?

Postby juanjgon » Wed May 25, 2016 1:00 pm

juanjgon Wed May 25, 2016 1:00 pm
Thanks for the log, it was really useful ;)

I think that I've found a problem that can crash the plugin at this point if the grid name is empty. I've fixed it for the next build.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7297
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Feb 23, 2020 3:04 am [ UTC ]