Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax

Forums: Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax
Discussion forum for OctaneRender Cloud

Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax

Postby DartFrog » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:37 pm

DartFrog Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:37 pm
I've submitted a job to the ORC and it rendered. I know there were warnings and things make sure I create a render target but I don't know what that is even though I read about it. I know you can set one in standalone. Anyway, how do you set a render target in 3dsmax so that when you send to the ORC (which you can do through max) it actually gives you a file you can download?
DartFrog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax

Postby paride4331 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:16 pm

paride4331 Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:16 pm
Hi DartFrog,
The best workflow for export to ORC is export to SA and then to ORC.
This allows you to verify your scene before uploading to ORC.
In 3dsMax render target is automatically created when you export in .ORBX,
In SA you can create all render targets you want.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax

Postby DartFrog » Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:46 pm

DartFrog Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:46 pm
Thanks. I'll try that. Never used Standalone before.

Since 3dsmax has orc export option as well, is a render target option going to be in there somewhere in a future release?

EDIT: Holy hell I thought exporting to the cloud took a while, that's nothing compared to exporting to standalone. I'll be here 5 hours just doing that. I think I'll skip the ORC for the future until the workflow is better.
DartFrog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax

Postby paride4331 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:32 pm

paride4331 Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:32 pm
Hi DartFrog,
I personally do not know about render target and Octane 3dsMax in the future.
The slowness you report has no relation with ORC or SA export, file creation process is the same.
I think your issue is caused by where you're saving .orbx,
something like external hard drives, hard disk paging system...
Try to modify your saving path; Octane 3dsMax generally exports to C:\..
this could slow exports because other applications (or OS) are using C:\
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax

Postby DartFrog » Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:53 pm

DartFrog Thu Apr 06, 2017 3:53 pm
I had the SA file going to my desktop. I figured I'd keep it off the network for speed reasons. After about 5 minutes it had saved out 1.7MB and while I don't know how large the file would be in the end (probably hundreds of MB) that it just wasn't going to happen today. I have a LOT of forest-pack objects, displacement, etc. all the fun stuff. I'm thinking that converting that to something that SA could see was probably the issue. I'm guessing the Forest pack objects need to be converted to mesh before it goes to SA?
DartFrog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: Setting 'Render Target' in 3dsmax

Postby paride4331 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:57 am

paride4331 Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:57 am
Hi DartFrog,
I'm making a series of tests on your report. There seems to be a slower time than others Octane plugins (with instances).
Have you made some renders with ORC?
I think its upload speed is caused by a partial upload about the scene.
I'll get news.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Return to OctaneRender Cloud


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:32 pm [ UTC ]